• WSCUC Welcomes New Commissioners, Thanks Departing Ones

    July 13, 2021 - WSCUC

WSCUC is proud to thank four departing commissioners and to announce the election of six new commissioners who began their three-year terms on July 1, 2021.

WSCUC recognizes four outgoing commissioners who concluded their tenure on June 30, 2021. Chair Phillip Doolittle said, “We are very grateful for the service of these excellent commissioners. They each contributed to significant projects and brought important perspectives to WSCUC’s work of promoting equity and inclusion, evidence and improvement, and our national and global reach.”

The departing commissioners are:

  • Greg Franklin, Superintendent, Tustin K-12 School District (ACS-WASC representative)
  • Fernando Leon-Garcia, President, CETYS University, Mexico
  • Kay Llovio, Associate Provost, William Jessup University
  • Tomoko Takahashi, Vice President and Graduate School Dean, Soka University of America

The new commissioners are:

  • Andrew Dorantes, Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Treasurer, Harvey Mudd College
  • Odie Douglas, Assistant Superintendent, Pleasanton Unified School District (retired)(ACS-WASC representative)
  • Elizabeth L. Hillman, President, Mills College
  • Ellen Junn, President, Cal State University, Stanislaus
  • Thomas Parham, President, Cal State University, Dominguez Hills
  • Judy Sakaki, President, Sonoma State University

“These new members each add deep experience and further diversity to our distinguished Commission,” said President Jamienne S. Studley. “Their leadership, knowledge, and commitment will help WSCUC serve students and advance key initiatives on equity and inclusion, standards review, governance, and financial sustainability.”

Learn more about the Commission and the election process here.

Staff Contact: Kris Matarrese