• WSCUC Welcomes Five New Commissioners at Significant Time for Accreditation

    June 29, 2020 - WSCUC

We are excited to announce the election of five new commissioners who will begin their service to WSCUC on July 1, 2020.

The new commissioners are:

  • Lauren J. Asher, Independent Consultant, former President, The Institute for College Access and Success (TICAS) (Public Member)
  • Anita Borja Enriquez, Senior Vice President, Provost & ALO, University of Guam (Institutional Member)
  • Mary Marcy, President, Dominican University of California (Institutional Member) 
  • Shawn Whalen, Program Director, College Futures Foundation (Public Member)
  • Kim Wilcox, Chancellor, University of California, Riverside (Institutional Member)

“This stellar new class of public and institutional leaders joins the commission at an important time for accreditation and WSCUC,” said President Jamienne S. Studley. “Their expertise spans critical issues on WSCUC’s agenda – equity and diversity, college sustainability, student outcomes and change management – and we appreciate their willingness to serve.”

WSCUC also recognizes and thanks four outgoing commissioners who will conclude their tenure on June 30, 2020. They are:

  • Janna Bersi, Vice President, Investments and Administration, Chapman University; outgoing Treasurer
  • Reed Dasenbrock, Professor of English, University of Hawai’i – Manoa; outgoing Chair
  • Shari Francis, Retired Vice President, State Relations, NCATE
  • Erin Gore, Executive Vice President, Wells Fargo

Incoming Chair Phil Doolittle said, “We are very grateful for the service of these excellent commissioners. Each one brought an important perspective and dedication to student and institutional success. The officers, Chair Reed Dasenbrock and Treasurer Janna Bersi, guided important change initiatives that strengthened the Commission’s effectiveness in accountability and improvement.”

Learn more about the Commission and the election process here.

Contact: Kris Matarrese (kmatarrese@wscuc.org)